The proverb “April Showers bring May Flowers” is running true for us this year in New England. With rainfall almost everyday in April, drivers need to be aware of the new driving law in Massachusetts. Beginning Tuesday April 7th, if you have your wipers on, you need to have your headlights on. Although it is a minor violation with only a $5 dollar fine, any driving violation can potentially impact your insurance premium.
The new law states that headlights must be illuminated if your windshield wipers are on in conjunction with conditions preventing you from seeing people or other vehicles at a distance of 500 feet. The law also makes it mandatory to use your headlights for a half hour before sunrise, and a half hour after sunset. This law includes headlights and tail-lights. So be aware that your daytime running lights are not sufficient.
It is important to note that this is already an existing law in Rhode Island and Connecticut. Drivers should just be aware that it now extends into Massachusetts.Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have about this or any other driving concerns. As always, if you enjoyed reading this, please subscribe to the Blog Edition of the Loiselle Ledger, the official newsletter of Loiselle Insurance. As a subscriber you’ll receive bi-monthly emails highlighting our latest blog posts. Subscribe Now.