clock October 13, 2015 comments No Comments flowchart Our Blog tag Liability

Rhode Island Automobile Insurance

In case you haven’t heard, Rhode Island is now tracking and cracking down on vehicles that are registered but not insured. So what exactly are the Rhode Island automobile insurance requirements? Watch as insurance experts Julia Issa & Melanie Loiselle-Mongeon discuss the Rhode Island automobile insurance requirements.

What are the requirements for Rhode Island automobile insurance?
If you have a vehicle registered in the state of Rhode Island, it must have:

      Bodily Injury Liability Insurance                                  Property Damage Liability Insurance
$25,000 per person | $50,000 per accident                                $25,000 per accident

Rhode Island Insurance Requirements

Is there any other automobile insurance Rhode Island requires?
No, but it is strongly recommended that you also purchase medical payments and uninsured motorist coverage; however it is not required by Rhode Island state law unless you purchase liability limits which are higher than the mandatory coverage amounts (if this is the case, then you must purchase a minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage).  These coverages are so highly recommended that you must sign documents confirming that you reject the coverage when you are purchasing your insurance policy. 

Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury:
Coverage that protects you should your vehicle be hit by someone who is driving without insurance and you or your passengers are injured in the accident. 

Medical Payments Coverage:
Helps pay for medical expenses for both drivers and passengers after an accident, regardless of fault. 

4222474443_a5e2ebaabe
Is Rhode Island Punishing Drivers Who Are Not Insuring Their Automobiles?
Yes, Rhode Island is actually now tracking and cracking down on registered vehicles without insurance. Letters are being mailed to owners of uninsured vehicles asking for proof of insurance. If the owner does not take any action to verify insurance within the allotted time frame, driver’s licenses and registrations are being revoked. As an additional penalty, Rhode Island is also charging fines of up to $250 per uninsured vehicle.
If you do receive one of these letters and you are insured by us, please give us a call so we can help! 

Rhode Island Insurance Requirements

For some more information on Rhode Island Cracking Down on Uninsured Motorists feel free to visit one of our previous blogs:
Rhode Island Cracking Down On Uninsured Motorists
Attention: Rhode Island Uninsured Motorist:

If you enjoyed reading this, please subscribe to the Blog Edition of the Loiselle Ledger, the official newsletter of Loiselle Insurance. As a subscriber you’ll receive bi-monthly emails highlighting our latest blog posts. Subscribe Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *